1975 Hydroplane Slate is Worth Record $350,000 for 10 events

Powerboat racing's most glamorous class, the unlimited hydroplanes, will compete for record purses of $350,000 next year in a 10-event schedule. The 1975 season for the 180-mile-an-hour "thunderboats" opens May 18 on Biscayne Bay in Miami and closes Sept. 14 on Lake Pleasant in Phoenix, Ariz.

Major races between those dates include the President's Cup on June 1, the Gold Cup on July 27 and the Seattle Seafair on Aug. 3. The Gold Cup, considered the sport's top event, has been scheduled for the Columbia River at Tri-Cities, Wash.

In announcing the schedule, the Unlimited Racing Commission of the American Power Boat Association also indicated that at least 20 unlimiteds would be ready for competition. The fleet is expected to include Pay 'n Pak, Miss Budweiser, Valu-Mart, Miss Madison, U-95, Lincoln Thrift and Loan, Red Man, Sunny Jim, Kirby Classic, Pizza Pete, Mr. Fabricator, Savair's Probe and CU-22.

Pay 'n Pak, owned by Dave Heerensperger and driven by George Henley, dominated the 1974 season with seven victories. Bernie Little's boat, Miss Budweiser, took three firsts before Howie Benns, the rookie driver, was injured in a motorcycle accident.

1975 Schedule
May 18 Champion Spark Plug Regatta Marine Stadium Miami, FL
June 1 President's Cup Potomac River Washington, DC
June 15 Kentucky Governor's Cup Ohio River Owensboro, KY
June 29 Gar Wood Trophy Race Detroit River Detroit, MI
July 6 Indiana Governor's Cup Ohio River Madison, IN
July 13 Hydroglobe Eastwood Park Lake Dayton, OH
July 27 APBA Gold Cup Columbia River Tri-Cities, WA
August 3 Seattle Seafair Lake Washington Seattle, WA
September 7 San Diego Unlimited Mission Bay San Diego, CA
September 14 Desert Thunderboat Regatta Lake Pleasant Phoenix, AZ

(reprinted from the Associated Press newswire, December 29, 1974)

Hydroplane History Home Page
This page was last revised Thursday, April 01, 2010.
Your comments and suggestions are appreciated. Email us at wildturnip@gmail.com
Leslie Field, 1999