1978 Jack-in-the-Box Regatta
Mission Bay, San Diego CA, September 17, 1978

Muncey Cracks San Diego Hydro Whammy

bullet Muncey Cracks San Diego Whammy
bullet Statistics

SAN DIEGO ó (Special) ó Scratch one jinx.

Bill Muncey, the winningest driver in unlimited hydroplane history, finally won here yesterday on the course where he had lost nine previous times.

The victory in the Thunderboat Unlimited Regatta was the 50th of Munceyís career and marked the sixth time in seven races this season the Atlas Van Lines took the checkered flag.

"This gets the monkey off my back," said Muncey, who set a national record by averaging 121.261 miles an hour in the championship heat on the 2Ĺ-mile Mission Bay course.

His lap speed of 123.626 m.p.h. on the heatís second lap was a course record.

The Squire Shop (U-64), driven by Chip Hanauer, was second in the final heat in which a boatís finish determines its final standing. Miss Circus Circus (U-31) finished third with Steve Reynolds of Kirkland, Wash., driving in his first unlimited race. Vanís PX, driven by Jack Schafer, Jr., was fourth and Oh Boy Oberto, driven by Bob Maschmedt, was fifth.

Miss Budweiser blew an engine coming out of the final turn of the championship heat in third place. Ron Snyder immediately turned the boat into the infield and was disqualified because he crossed the finish line off the course. Snyder said he left the course for safety reasons because he didnít know how close the pursuing Miss Circus Circus was to him.

The Squire Shop was the first boat across the starting line in the final heat as Hanauer made his third perfect start of the day. Muncey, who started wide, caught up going into the first turn and held a slight lead coming out of it. By lapís end, Muncey led by four lengths and kept adding to it.

Muncey, who lives outside San Diego, set a world qualifying- record on the 2Ĺ-mile course Saturday by averaging 132.353 m.p.h. The Atlas won its two preliminary heats yesterday with Miss Budweiser and Vanís PX winning the other two.

Muncey clinched the national championship August 6 in Seattle.


1. Atlas Van Lines (U-00), Bill Muncey, 121.261 miles an hour. 2. The Squire Shop (U-64), Chip Hanauer, 115.800. 3. Miss Circus Circus (U-31), Steve Reynolds, 104.360 4. Vanís PX (U-80), Jack Schafer, Jr., 100.178. 5. Oh Boy Oberto (U-8), Bob Maschmedt, 90.108. Miss Budweiser (U-1), did not finish.

HEAT 1A ó 1. Atlas. 2. Vanís PX. 3. Miss Circus Circus 4. Norm Pressleyís Truck Center (U-96), Chuck King. 5. Elliott Dog Ration (U-66), Bob Miller. 6. B&L Plumbing (U-29), Fred Leland. No times because flare was fired in lap 4 when U-96 lost engine cover. Referee ruled positions in lap 4 to be final.

HEAT 1B ó 1. Budweiser, 114.242. 2. Squire Shop, 106.057. 3. Miss Madison (U-6), Milner Irvin, 98.103. 4. Oh Boy Oberto, 81.774. Dr. Toyota (U-22), did not start.

HEAT 2A ó 1. Atlas Van Lines, 119.048. 2. The Squire Shop, 108.985. 3. Miss Circus Circus, 105.683. 4. Miss Budweiser, 102.041. 5. B&L Plumbing, 81.198. Dr. Toyota DNF.

HEAT 2B ó 1. Vanís PX, 99.338. 2. Oh Boy Oberto, 84.049. 3. Elliott Dog Ration, 82.312. Norm Pressleyís Truck Center (U-96), DNF. Miss Madison DNF.


1. Atlas Van Lines (U-00), 7,725 points; 2. Miss Budweiser (U-1), 5,144; 3. The Squire Shop (U-64), 3,765; 4. Miss Madison (U-6), 3,008; 5. U-96, 2,934; 6. Elliott Dog Ration (U-66), 2,475; 7. The Probe (U-50), 1,915; 8. Miss Vanís PX (U-80), 1,563; 9. Miss Bud (VS-22), 1,500; 10. Oh Boy Oberto (U.8), 1,196; 11. U-7, 900; 12, Miss Circus Circus (U-31), 675; 13. The Squire Shop (U-65), 525; 14. B&L Plumbing (U-29), 518; 15. Tempus (U-17), 169; 16. Dr. Toyota (U-22), 127.


1, Bill Muncey, 7,725 points; 2. Ron Snyder, 5,144; 3. Chip Hanauer, 3,765; 4. Chuck King, 2,934; 5. Bob Miller, 2,507; 6. Milner Irvin, 2,-444; 7. Tom Martin, 1,779; 8. Jack Schafer, Jr., 1,563; 9. Bob Saniga, 1,500; 10. Jon Peddie, 1,264; 11. Steve Jones, 900; 12. Bob Maschmedt, 896; 13. Pete LaRock, 525; 14. Steve Reynolds, 675; 15. Fred Leland, 518; 16. Chuck Hickling, 169.

(Reprinted from The Seattle Times, September 18. 1978)

Hydroplane History Home Page
This page was last revised Thursday, April 01, 2010 .
Your comments and suggestions are appreciated. Email us at wildturnip@gmail.com
© Leslie Field, 2005