1958 APBA Gold Cup
Lake Washington, Seattle, Washington, August 10, 1958

A Yachtsman’s Guide To The Seattle Seafair
Vital Statistics On The Gold Cup Race

Who's going to Win the Gold Cup?
How to See the Gold Cup
A Yachtsman's Guide to the Seattle Seafair

Miss Pay 'n Save Second To Qualify
Hawaii Kai Captures Gold Cup; Thriftway, Patrol Boat Sink in Crash
Hawaii Kai Wins 51st Gold Cup Race
Hawaii Kai III ... Greatest of Them All

On Aug. 10 when Willard Rhodes of the Seattle YC defends the Gold cup with two boats, Miss Thriftway driven by Bill Muncey and Thriftway Too driven by Brien Wygle, it will be the 51st running of this race. The trophy was first put up in 1904 and was won by C.C. Riotte’s multiple-cockpit 59-ft. Standard in three 32-mile heats at an average speed of 23.6 mph.

Since then the big gold-plated urn has become the most distinguished trophy in speedboating. When it was first raced for in Seattle in 1951, the race became the biggest sport spectacle in America.

Official Gold cup Scoring System

This is the only unlimited hydroplane race in the U.S. which now gives a bonus for the fastest average speed for the complete distance of the race. It’s tricky to figure, but it keeps the boats from loitering on the way to the finish line. Points are awarded to each craft completing a heat (30 miles) on the basis of the American Power Boat Associations scoring system. In addition, there are bonus points awarded for completing the 90-mile race — 400 for the fastest average speed for the 90 miles and 400 points for the fastest individual heat speed. Points per heat are:

1st — 400

5th —127

9th — 40

2nd — 300

6th — 95

10th — 30

3rd — 225

7th — 71

11th — 22

4th — 169

8th — 53

12th — 17

The boat with the largest total wins the Gold Cup. The Martini-Rossi Trophy is given to the boat that wins the fastest heat. The boat making the fastest lap is given the Aaron DeRoy Plaque.

Recent Gold cup Races


Winning Boat

Sponsor of Race


Best Heat MPH


Slo-mo-shun V

Seattle YC

Stanley S. Sayres



Slo-mo-shun IV

Seattle YC

Stanley S. Sayres



Slo-mo-shun IV

Seattle YC

Stanley S. Sayres



Slo-mo-shun V

Seattle YC

Stanley S. Sayres



Gale V

Seattle YC

Joe Schoenith



Miss Thriftway

Detroit YC

Willard Rhodes



Miss Thriftway

Seattle YC

Willard Rhodes


* * *

Gold Cup Time Trials — Lake Washington, 12 noon-5pm August 5-9. Unlimited hydroplanes must qualify 3 laps at 95 mph or more to be eligible for Gold Cup Race. Fastest 21 qualifiers accepted.

August 10

Gold Cup Race — Lake Washington, on Gold Cup course, south of floating bridge, 12 noon-6 p.m. Unlimited hydroplanes. Bob Hyde, Seattle YC, chairman. Donald L. Guerin, New York, referee, 90 mi. race, run in three 30-mi. heats of 10 laps per heat around 3-mi. course. See from your boat on log boom or vantage points around lake. Reserved seats available on shore. Tentative schedule calls for seven heats:

Heat 1A

12:20 p.m.

Heat 1B

1:00 p.m.

Heat 1C

1:40 p.m.

Blue Angels jet plane demonstration

2:05 p.m.

Heat 2A

2:55 p.m.

Heat 2B

3:35 p.m.

Heat 2C

4:15 p.m.

Thunderbirds jet plane demonstration

4:40 p.m.

Junior crew race

5:00 p.m.

Final Heat

5:30 p.m.

(Reprinted from Sea and Pacific Motor Boat, August 1958, pp. 38-39)

Hydroplane History Home Page
This page was last revised Thursday, April 01, 2010 .
Your comments and suggestions are appreciated. Email us at wildturnip@gmail.com
Leslie Field, 2000